Ready For Take-Off

Today I have found more proof about the fact that boys will always be boys.
The third stage of the Vuelta started on a ship. And I’m not referring to those gigantic, white cruise ships. This morning the riders departed from a warship. An aircraft carrier to be more explicit. And most boys like aircrafts. I cannot describe in words what this carrier looks like, so for that I’d like to refer to the photo that Chris Froome took of it this morning.

Firstly, I will provide you with some information about the warship itself. It is the ‘Juan Carlos I’. It is named after king Juan Carlos, the former king of Spain. The ship can carry aircrafs and helicopters and it is 230 metres long. It is used by the Spanish navy for multiple purposes. Enough of that for now. If you are still in an urgent need of more details about this warship, just google it and read whatever you want to read about it.

Back to the proof that I’ve found. Tobias Ludvigsson from Team Giant-Shimano stated on Twitter that this was the “coolest start I ever had”. Cadel Evans from the BMC Racing Team mentioned that this start was “impressive” and Nathan Haas from Garmin-Sharp said that his morning “was better than my day”. He also referred to the movie ‘Top Gun’, by sending a tweet into the world that says: “take my breathe away you fantastic bike race you”. The soundtrack of that movie is ‘take my breath away’ by Berlin. And I have to admit, Manuel Quinziato does look a bit like Tom Cruise (you know, the handsome and famous actor in that movie) in the photo you can see below.

He was not the only rider who was lucky enough to take place in one of the aircrafts on the ship. Riders like Wout Poels, Imanol Erviti, Maxim Bouet and Oscar Gatto also had the opportunity to sit in an aircraft. Alexander Kolobnev even showed that he would be an excellent captain and Rigoberto Uran took a photo with one of the staff members. As you can see, all happy faces.
I think I have proven my point by now.

Captains

Wasn’t there any selfie today? Of course there was! What is a day without one? Three Belkin boys (Martijn Keizer, Stef Clement and Robert Gesink) show us the big crowd behind them, stating that many fans were present this morning to cheer for the riders (and take photos of that warship, I presume).

I do wonder: what is next? Today it is a warship, what will it be tomorrow?
The zoo? A football stadium? A swimming pool? With the current heat in Spain I think the riders prefer the last suggestion. I do know that the riders enjoyed themselves this morning. And that they will have some very sweet dreams tonight (about aircrafts, lots and lots of aircrafts).

Teams Aircraft

Leave a Reply

