Photos Gouden Pijl Emmen 2013

Gouden Pijl 2013 / 6 August / Emmen

The winner of 4 stages in the Tour de France, Marcel Kittel, brought many of his teammates from Argos-Shimano to the annual criterium in Emmen. Tom Veelers, Albert Timmer, Johannes Fröhlinger and Cheng Ji were present at the Gouden Pijl. Pieter Weening (OGE) had just returned from the Tour de Pologne. He won this WorldTour race after riding an outstanding time trial on the final day. His friend Laurens ten Dam (BEL), the number 13 from the Tour de France, was also there. There were more riders from Team Belkin: Tom Jelte Slagter, Lars Boom and Bauke Mollema all came to the southeast of Drenthe.

On top of that, Bram Tankink (BEL) also participated in the race. He attacked several times and even wanted to try and win some extra money by crossing the finish line last during one of the rounds, an idea the speaker promoted with lots of enthusiasm. However, Umberto Atzori (KOG) won this battle, before Rick Ottema (RIJ). They used the technique that is called the standstill (in Dutch: surplace), which is often used in track cycling.

Earlier that day, the women’s race was won by Marianne Vos from the Rabobank-Liv/Giant Team and the race for elite/talented riders by Gert-Jan Bosman from the Rabobank Development Team. In the race for professionals, 35 riders were present at the start. The two brothers from Garmin-Sharp, Raymond and Michel Kreder, were also in Emmen. Niki Terpstra (OPQ), who also finished the Tour de France, was there and many riders from Vacansoleil-DCM, including Lieuwe Westra, Martijn Keizer, Bert-Jan Lindeman, Boy van Poppel and Danny van Poppel. Unfortunately, this Dutch WorldTour team is still looking for a new sponsor that is willing to support them in the upcoming years.

Laurens ten Dam (BEL) and Pieter Weening (OGE) were able to stay away at the end of the criterium. In the sprint, Pieter Weening managed to cross the line before Laurens ten Dam. The German sprinter Marcel Kittel (ARG) won the peloton sprint in Emmen and became third. Besides that, Bauke Mollema (BEL) won the Peter van Putten prize for most combative rider of the evening. For more info on cycling criteriums go here or go to



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s