Winter



16 December 2010

It’s that time of year again.
Riders are enjoying their free moments.
They go on a holiday, do a little bit of exercise.
Two, three hours on a bike. That’s it.
No races. No winners. No losers. No mountains. No sprints.
It makes it the worst time of year for the fans.
Do you also find yourself drawing mountains
with little bikes on a piece of paper?
Checking Twitter every day to see if cyclists are saying something interesting?
Mostly tweets like “having lunch”, “shopping with the family”
or “this is my rest day” pop up on the screen.
Of course they deserve this time of year, don’t get me wrong.
But cycling fans sure miss the excitement of the races.
Okay, there is cyclocross.
But that’s only one hour a week! Two if you’re lucky.
So you watch old videos on YouTube.
You search for news or new photos, but you can hardly find anything.
Luckily there are training camps and team buildings these days, 
so riders are seriously starting to train again for the new season.
But thinking about who could win Flanders or Roubaix next year
always makes me realize that it’s still months away from now…
Well, I’m glad this time of year is almost over.
Only four weeks left.
Four weeks until the start of the Tour Down Under.
I don’t care if I have to get up at 7 in the morning
to watch the live broadcasting.
Everything is better than this.

One response to “Winter

  1. Very nice post: I agree with everything that you wrote. I miss road cycling races so much right now!
    I also find myself drawing mountains with little bikes on pieces of paper- not to mention the fact that I sometimes start writing the names of Russian riders in Cyrillic on my school books…

Leave a Reply

